Anne Izard Award Eligibility

Anne Izard Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Noted librarian and storyteller Anne Izard, who died in 1990, is being honored with this award. It was established in her name by the Westchester Library System, where she served as the Children’s Services Consultant for many years.

It is hoped that this award will highlight and promote distinguished titles published in the field of storytelling, and in doing so, bring the many riches of storytelling itself to a much greater public recognition.

Books considered for the TWELTH award must be original material, reprints, or new English translations published in North America between January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2016.

Selection Criteria:

While mindful of the established standards of excellence in literature, the primary intention of this award is to honor books that can be used with confidence as resources for storytellers.

Stories must be entirely successful without depending upon illustrations, graphic elements, or audio-visual media.

Collections, as well as individual picture book versions of stories, will be considered.

Folk tales should be distinguished by an outstanding style, which makes the particular version notable. Authenticity, scholarship, and documentation will be taken into consideration, but are not the sole criteria.

Distinguished examples of original stories should preserve, promote and/or honor an oral tradition.

Non-fiction narratives, including poetry and biography, will be considered.

Books which deepen and enrich a storyteller’s understanding of the meaning and uses of story, as well as books pertaining to folk traditions, aesthetics, methods and study of storytelling are eligible.

Submissions should be sent to: (Five copies would be appreciated)


Ellen Tannenbaum, Anne Izard Committee Co-Chair

Youth Services Librarian,

Tuckahoe Library

71 Columbus Avenue

Tuckahoe, NY 10707


The Anne Izard Storytellers’ Choice Award was supported by the Westchester Library System since its inception.  Commencing in 2012 the award is now under the auspices of the Westchester Library Association.