

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017-2018 Anne Izard Storytellers' Choice Award. This award seeks to highlight and promote distinguished titles published in the field of storytelling. It is named for Anne Izard, who died in 1990; she served as noted librarian, storyteller, and Children's Services Consultant in Westchester County, New York. The two year award period recognizes thirteen titles, making it an (Augusta) Baker's dozen. Augusta Baker, another powerful storyteller responsible for training an army of librarians during the mid-Twentieth Century, served as head of services to Children at the New York Public Library. Following are the criteria for the award:

- The primary intention of this award is to honor books that can be used with confidence as resources for storytellers.
- Stories must be entirely successful without depending upon illustrations, graphic elements, or audio-visual media.
- Collections, as well as individual picture book versions of stories, are considered.
- Folk tales should be distinguished by an outstanding style, which makes the particular version notable. Authenticity, scholarship, and documentation will be taken into consideration, but are not the sole criteria.
- Distinguished examples of original stories should preserve, promote and/or honor an oral tradition.
- Non-fiction narratives, including poetry and biography, will be considered.
- Books that deepen and enrich a storyteller's understanding of the meaning and uses of story, as well as books pertaining to folk traditions, aesthetics, methods and study of storytelling are eligible.

Our full list for the **fourteenth** award covers books published in English in the United States during **2017 and 2018**:

The Annotated African-American Folktales (Henry Louis Gates, Jr. & Maria Tatar)

Beauty and the Beast (Maria Tatar)

Brave Red, Smart Frog (Emily Jenkins)

Crane Girl (Curtis Manley)

Daemon Voices (Philip Pullman)

Dancing on Blades (Csenge Zalka)

How to Fracture a Fairy Tale (Jane Yolen)

Manjhi Moves a Mountain (Nancy Churnin)

Norse Myths (Kevin Crossley-Holland)

Norse Mythology (Neil Gaiman)

Once There Was a Story (Jane Yolen)

The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet (Carmen Deedy)

Thank You, Omu (Oge Mora)

Our ceremony is scheduled for September 14 at the John C. Hart Memorial Library—9:30 for coffee and light refreshments, ceremony at 10:00. All WLA members are invited to attend the ceremony where some of the authors will speak or tell a story. Authors unable to attend will send messages to be read aloud. This is WLA's own book award! We have sent each recipient and her/his publisher a letter of congratulations and included in the committee member's signature: Books for sale and signing will be provided by Pleasantville's Village Bookstore.

Melissa Heckler & Sarah Harshman, WLA Anne Izard Storytellers' Choice Award Committee