Join us on March 10, 2017 at 6:30pm
at PANERA BREAD
1 North Broadway White Plains, NY 10601

For an open discussion group for adults who read (YA) Young Adult Literature.  Come join us to talk about our featured book, YA buzz, and also bring reading suggestions for possible featured books for future meetings.

 

March 2017 Featured Read: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . . Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over. But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out
that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner. Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

“Spellbinding.” ―US Weekly *“A magnificent debut.” ―Publishers Weekly, starred review *“I lost myself in this world.” ―Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes * “Beautifully written.” ―Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn *“Shimmers with magic.” ―Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse “Darkly enchanting.” ―Kiersten White, author of And I Darken * “Decadent.” ―Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen * “Like stepping into a living dream.” ―Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon “Destined to capture imaginations.” ―Kirkus Reviews * “Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.” ―SLJ

 

 

We are now on GOODREADS. Please sign up for an account and join the group online.
https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/126309-not-just-for-ya-book-group
 

THIS BOOK CLUB IS SPONSORED BY THE YOUTH SERVICES SECTION OF THE WESTCHESTER LIBRARY ASSOCIATION


Past Featured Books

 
February 2017: Paper Girls Volume 1 by Brian K Vaughn, illustrated by Cliff Chiang and Jared K. Fletcher
January 2017: Mock Awards Books Reading List
March: Book Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and illustrated by Nate Powell
We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry
Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork
The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
December 2016: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon
November 2016: How To Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather
October 2016: The Passion of Dolssa: A Novel by Julie Berry
September 2016: Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina
August 2016: Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
July 2016: Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins
June 2016: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby, Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez and The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick
May 2016: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
April 2016: This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
March 2016: Becoming Maria: Love and Chaos in the South Bronx by Sonia Manzano
February 2016: “A Crossroads” by J. L. Powers from Things I’ll Never Say: Stories About Our Secret Selves edited by Ann Angel
January 2016: Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein
Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
Either the Beginning or the End of the World by Terry Farish
The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schlitz
Symphony for the City of the Dead by M.T. Anderson
The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Sum
December 2015: How to be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras
November 2015: 13 Days of Midnight by Leo Hunt
October 2015: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
September 2015: Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell
August 2015: Shine by Lauren Myracle with More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
July 2015: Playlist For The Dead by Michelle Falkoff with Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
June 2015: 2015 Printz Award Winning Books (discussed at the Printz Pizza Party)
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson; And We Stay by Jenny Hubbard; The Carnival At Bray by Jessie Ann Foley; Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith; and This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki
May 2015: Rebels By Accident by Patricia Dunn
April 2015: Diamond Boy by Michael Williams
March 2015: Laughing At My Nightmare by Shane Burcaw
February 2015: Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen
January 2015: My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins
December 2014: Noggin by John Corey Whaley
November 2014: The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
October 2014: The Paladin Prophecy by Mark Frost
September 2014: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
August 2014: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen &
Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
July 2014: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick &
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
June 2014: The Hit by Melvin Burgess
May 2014: A Girl Named Digit by Annabel Monaghan
April 2014: Anything But Ordinary by Lara Avery
March 2014: Where The Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller
February 2014: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
January 2014: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
December 2013: ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell
November 2013: ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card
October 2013: ROT & RUIN by Jonathan Maberry
September 2013: THE FALSE PRINCE by Jennifer Nielsen
August 2013: FORGIVE ME, LEONARD PEACOCK by Matthew Quick
(our group was able to read galley copies thanks to Victoria Stapleton, Director, School & Library Marketing from Little Brown and Company)
July 2013: LUCY VARIATIONS by Sara Zarr
June 2013: CRASH by Lisa McMann
May 2013: ONE CAME HOME by Amy Timberlake
April 2013: SPEECHLESS by Hannah Harrington
March 2013: BRUISER by Neil Shusterman AND DRAMA by RAINA Telgemeier
January 2013: THE LAST DRAGONSLAYER by Jasper Fforde
 

Photos

2013-06-14 19.50.20.jpg
2013-06-14 19.18.35.jpg
panera white plains.jpg
YAbookclub.JPG
photo (3).jpg
IMG_20131108_215226641.jpg
NJFYADec2.jpg
NJFYADec1.jpg
2014-02-19.jpg
2014-03-14.jpg
2014-04.jpg
May.JPG
June2014.JPG
IMG_20140905_211441376.jpg
2014-09-12.jpg
2014-10-18.jpg
2014-11.jpg
2015-01 (2).jpg
2015-01 (1).jpg
2015-08.jpg
2015-09.jpg
2015-11.jpg
2016-04 (2).jpg
2016-04.jpg
2016-05 (1).jpg
2016-05 (2).jpg
2016-05 (3).jpg
2016-05 (4).jpg
2016-05 (5).jpg